A Goodbye To Rutgers.

Tomorrow will be the last day of my undergraduate education at Rutgers University. I have had people tell me all year about how excited I must be to finally leave the world of academia behind. They are right, but I am also pretty anxious and scared of what the future holds. However, I am sure I will be able to make it through because of all that I learned as being a student here.

This last post is not going to be a long, sentimental note about all the things I learned here. Instead I wanted to part with some things that I want to share with anyone who is still a student enrolled here and those who may be coming here in the future.

College is supposed to be the best years of your life. It is the only time where you have one foot inside the” ivory tower” and one in the “real world”. You get to meet and learn about a lot of people from diverse backgrounds and places, and find and learn a lot about yourself in the process. You have the ability to grow as a person and figure out what you want to do with the rest of your life. And if you don’t have the last bit figured out after four years, that is okay. You have made friends with a bunch of people in the same boat as you. For all you know, you could create something special with these people that could make you millions!

But how is doing all this at the Rutgers any different than doing it at some other college?

Well, the environment that Rutgers provides allows students the chance to be who they want to be. The classes that are offered are interesting, taught mostly by professors who really are enthusiastic about their jobs, and the students here are without a doubt helpful and friendly. Rutgers gets a lot of negative attention, but trust me. It is an awesome school, and I will cherish every memory I have made.

Just a few last tips for you guys that I have found the most important:

TIP #1: Have an open mind.

I didn’t apply to any other college. Rutgers was where I was told to go. I felt annoyed that I didn’t get to choose, but it worked out for me at the end. There is so much to see and do here. Do not judge Rutgers before you even give it a fair chance. You might miss out on a great experience.

TIP #2: Explore.

Rutgers is a big school, take a chance to see all of it before you graduate.

TIP #3: Get involved.

You college experience will be as fun or stressful as you make it.

And lastly:

TIP #4: Enjoy it!

Four years go by fast. Make it count.

I may be leaving Rutgers, but it will always stay in my heart.

 

Leave a comment